Improving Healthcare Outcomes In Chronic Disease - Enhancing The Curriculum At Masters Level (IHOD)

Lithuanian University of Health Sciences (LUHS)

Kaunas - Lithuania

Lithuanian University Of HealthThe Lithuanian University of Health Sciences is the largest institution of higher education for biomedical sciences in Lithuania. The Medical Academy and Veterinary Academy are the main units of the University, which also includes Faculties, Research Institutes, the University Hospital and other functional units. 7 faculties and 5 research institutes constitute the main body of the University. In 2015, there were 8,120 students enroled, among them 654 foreign students and 260 PhD students. LUHS offers 29 study programmes. It has 161 professors, 229 associate professors, 298 lecturers, and 454 assistant professors. In LUHS’s University hospital in Kaunus, there are 39 in-patient departments, it is the largest medical institution in the Baltic States.

LUHS participates in development of projects that result in the improved quality of studies, new technologies, augmented scientific research and development. Our Medical Academy has grown from three traditional faculties (Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmacy) to five. The Faculty of Nursing was established in 1990 and the Faculty of Public of Health in 1994. LUHS collaborates with more than 140 European and other international universities for study and research purposes. LUHS collaborates with the World Health Organization (WHO) as a Collaborating Centre for the Prevention and Control of Non-communicable Diseases and for Nursing Education and Practice. LUHS has been actively involved in the WHO Countrywide Integrated Noncommunicable Diseases Intervention programme (CINDI) since 1983.

The Faculty of Public Health has five departments: Health Management, Preventive Medicine, Environmental Health, Health Psychology and Social sciences. The main activities of the Faculty are focussed on running bachelor, master and PhD training programmes and conducting public health research in the area of health inequalities, health behaviour and the prevention of chronic non-communicable diseases. The Faculty of Nursing consists of six departments: Department of Rehabilitation, Department of Geriatrics, Department of Nursing and Care, Sports Institute, Department of Children Rehabilitation, and Department of Behavioural Medicine. The main activities of the Department of Nursing and care are focussed on providing education in nursing and midwifery at bachelor, master degree, PhD level and continuous professional development.

Lithuanian University of Health Sciences (LUHS) will be represented in the project by the group of experts from the Faculty of Public Health and the Faculty of Nursing and involved in the following project activities: surveying international requirements and best practice, conducting a study tour of EU universities, regulatory bodies and health organisations, surveying and analysing stakeholder requirements, conducting a gap analysis of current programmes, developing the approach and requirements for the masters programme, developing the agreed (to be selected with partners) modules and short courses, developing programme curricula in line with the ECTS guidelines, conducting training for trainers activities at LUHS, other activities (to be added after discussion with project coordinators.


Founded by the
Erasmus+ Programme
of the European Union

The Erasmus Programme (European Community Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students) is a European Union (EU) Student Exchange Programme established in 1987.
Erasmus+ is the new programme combining all the EU's current schemes for education, training, youth and sport.

Project Coordinator

Assoc. Professor Mary Casey

UCD School of Nursing,
Midwifery & Health Systems
Belfield, Dublin 4

Website Development - Glitch I.T. Services